Thursday, 22 September 2016

Celebrities: 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA), Trevor Noah announced as Host for the Show

 The Daily Show host Trevor Noah is taking a break from U.S. election season next month to host the 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards in his hometown. The sixth edition of the MAMAs go down 22 October at the Ticketpro Dome in
Johannesburg, SouthAfrica

“I’m a huge fan of African music and achievement, and it’s going to be a massive pleasure celebrating them both at the MTV Africa Music Awards 2016 in my own home town of Johannesburg,” Noah said in a statement.

“Trevor Noah is an outstanding entertainer and testament to the amazing talent that Africa has to offer the world,” added Alex Okosi, senior VP and Managing Director of Viacom International Media Networks Africa. “To have him host the MAMA, our annual celebration of Africa music, creativity and achievement, is a powerful and inspiring message. We are delighted that our first-ever show in Johannesburg will be presented by one of the city’s most loved and admired personalities.”
 Image result for Trevor Noah

Trevor Noah - Host

The event is set to take place at Ticketpro Dome, Johannesburg on Saturday, October 22nd, 2016. It will feature performances from stand-out African stars like Alikiba, Babes Woduma, Cassper Nyovest, Nasty C, Yceeand Yemi Alade.

Nominees for the first half of the show’s 18 award categories were announced at a reveal party this evening in Johannesburg. Caster Semenya, Linda Ikeji, Pearl Thusi, Wizkid and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang are all up for Personality of the Year, an award which Noah claimed in 2015. Black Coffee, Wizkid, AKA, Patoranking and Diamond are in the running for Best Male. Emtee, Riky Rick, Ycee, Olamide and Kiff No Beat are this year’s Best Hip-Hop acts.
The awards will broadcast live on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV (DStv Channel 130) on Saturday 22 October at 21:00 CAT. You’ll be able to stream the show live on
Here’s the part 1 of the list of nominees:
Best Hip Hop Act
Olamide (Nigeria)
Kiff No Beat(Ivory Coast)
Emtee(South Africa)
Ricky Rich(South Africa)
Best Male Act
Wizkid (Nigeria)
AKA (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Best Live Act
Flavour (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Eddy Kenzo
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Personality of the Year
Linda Ikeji
Caster Semenya
Pearl Thusi
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang
Best Group
R2Bees (Ghana)
Sauti Sol(Kenya)
Navy Kenzo (Tanzania)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Best Lusophone
Nelson Freitas
C4 Pedro
Lizha James
Petro Show
Best Pop
Desmond & The Tutus
kyle deutsch & shekhinah
Best International Act
Best Collaboration
Patoranking ft. Sarkodie – No Kissing
Sauti Sol ft. Alikiba – Unconditionally Bae
AkA ft. Burna Boy,Khuli Chana & Yanga – Baddest
DJ Maphorisa ft. Wizkid & DJ Buckz – Soweto Baby
Nasty C ft. Davido  & Cassper Nyovest – Juice Back Remix

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts